XNV - The Exponential Ventures

New Scam from China, tries to force you to register your domain under other TLD through their site

Adriano Marques

If you own a .com or .org domain, expect to receive one of these:

(Letter to Head of Brand Business or CEO, thanks)
Dear Sir or Madam,
This is a formal email. We are the department of Asian Domain Registration Service in China. Here I have something to confirm with you. We formally received an application on May 14, 2013 that a company claimed "Rolf Industrial Co. Ltd" were applying to register "umitproject" as their Brand Name and some umitproject Asian countries top-level domain names through our firm.
Now we are handling this registration, and after our initial checking, we found the name were similar to your company’s, so we need to check with you whether your company has authorized that company to register these names. If you authorized this, we would finish the registration at once. If you did not authorize, please let us know within 7 workdays, so that we could handle this issue better. After the deadline we will unconditionally finish the registration for "Rolf Industrial Co. Ltd". Looking forward to your prompt reply.
Best Regards,
Martin Yang
Auditing Department
Address:No.166 Huangshan Road, Hefei 230001, Anhui, China
Tel: (+86) 739-5266069
Fax:(+86) 739-5266169

It got that e-mail on the admin email set for the umitproject.com and umitproject.org domains, and I felt REALLY weird to receive an e-mail like this, and here is why:

  • They say they are the “department of Asian Domain Registration Service in China“, but their website leads to a regular comercial domain registration site. Nothing there looks official or government regulated whatsoever. Heck! There is nothing written in chinese in the entire site! They’re surely, just yet another domain registration website.
  • When a company wants to register a domain through this kind of websites, it is a matter of: searching the name, if it is available under that TLD you select it, give your credit card number and it is yours right away. No background checking. What domain site would do a background check, and deny domains for its clients? For one, background checks are expensive, for two if the background shows a name clash he would have lost the business!
  • The email implies that they could register under the domain names I currently own. That is impossible.

I decided to reply saying that I own that domain and that I’m not interested in lending its use to anyone else. Then, I got this reply:

Dear Adriano,
Thanks for your response. As soon as receiving the application of "Rolf Industrial Co. Ltd", we checked and found "umitproject" is your company name. We are concerned that your company name might be affected negatively by their application, this is why we informed you, But now "Rolf Industrial Co. Ltd" wanted to apply for other domain names and Brand Name you have not registered in China yet. following Brand Name and domain names are applied for by "Rolf Industrial Co. Ltd":
Brand Name:
umitproject Domain Names:
At present, the domain names and Brand Name registration are open in the world. "Rolf Industrial Co. Ltd" also has the right to apply for the available domain names. For this reason "Rolf Industrial Co. Ltd" is also an licit applicant and we have no right to reject them. Your company only own the preferential right to register these names.
At present, we haven’t passed their application, we need your opinion. If your company consider these names of importance to your company’s business or interest, I suggest that your company register these names first so as to avoid confusion or speculation. Of course, each company has their own idea. If you don’t want to protect your intellectual property rights, then my suggestion is your company give up these names so that we can finish registering for them as per our duty. Please give me your company’s decision as soon as possible in order to handle this issue better.
Best Regards,
Martin Yang
Auditing Department

All that I needed to know! This is just a new form of Scam. They try to scare you that someone else is going to register all those domains under your company name, so you can rush and buy them all and maintain them all in an attempt to “prevent” the other company from having the name writes under other TLD, and eventually causing confusion among your customers, SEO, etc. If you receive this e-mail, just ignore. Nobody is registering those domains, and they’re just trying to force you to register these domains with them. Once you register, you’ll also feel the need renew them every single year. That will cost you around $100 every year, for no good use, that will go straight to the pocket of these scammers.


News, lessons, and content from our companies and projects.

Stay In The Loop!

Receive updates and news about XNV and our child companies. Don't worry, we don't SPAM. Ever.